Info About Education in India


    General Nursing And Midwifery Education in India


    General Nursing And Midwifery - The Diploma Course

    This is a three- year integrated course. The entrance qualification is a mandatory 2 years education after the basic 10 years education (10+2) (as per the Indian Education norms). 

    First Year:

    • Fundamentals of Nursing (Including First Aid, Emergency Nursing, Physics and Chemistry)  :  Theory and Practical
    • Anatomy & physiology
    • Microbiology
    • Community Health Nursing - I
    • Nutrition
    • Psychology
    • Sociology
    • Hygiene
    • Personal and environmental Health Education and Communication Skills

    Second Year:

    • Medical Surgical Nursing -I  ( including Pharmacology) : Theory and Practical
    • Medical Surgical Nursing -II (including specialities - Eye, E.N.T., Gynaecological Nursing, Communicable Diseases and Orthopaedic Nursing) : Theory and Practical
    • Paediatric Nursing : Theory and Practical
    • Mental Health and Psychiatric Nursing  : Theory and Practical

    Third Year :

    • Midwifery / Alternate course for Male students : Theory and Practical
    • Community Health Nursing - II : Theory and Practical
    • Including Professional Trends, Management and Supervision

    **  There may be inter - institutional variations in the subjects offered during the course of three years.