Info About Education in India


    Medical Education In India


    Baccalaureate in Nursing - The Degree Course 

    This is a four- year full time course. The entrance qualification is a mandatory 2 years education after the basic 10 years education (10+2) (as per the Indian Education norms).  

    First Year:

    • English
    • Sociology
    • Psychology
    • Anatomy and Physiology
    • Biochemistry
    • Pharmacology
    • Community Health
    • Nutrition
    • Foundations / Basic Concepts of Nursing  :  Theory and Practical
    • Microbiology

    Second Year:

    • Medical Nursing : Theory and Practical
    • Surgical Nursing : Theory and Practical Includes the specialities namely Eye , E.N.T., Orthopaedic, Cardiac Nursing etc.

    Third Year:

    • Gynaecology and Obstetric Nursing : Theory and Practical
    • Psychiatry / Mental Health Nursing : Theory and Practical
    • Community Health Nursing : Theory and Practical

    Fourth Year:

    • Principles Of Practice of Teaching : Theory and Practical
    • Management in Nursing : Theory and Practical

    ** There may be inter - institutional variations in the subjects offered during the course of four years.  In some institutions, the students undergo the internships during the fourth year.

    3. Post Certificate / Post Basic Baccalaureate in Nursing -

    The upgradation course is a two-year course, which can be taken up by the diploma holding nurses. This enables her / him to get a Baccalaureate degree in Nursing . This can be taken up after the nurse has completed at least two years of clinical practice.