Info About Education in India


    Central Universities in India


    Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi

    Jawaharlal Nehru University came into existence in 1969 by an Act of Parliament. It is primarily concerned with Post-graduate Education and Research.

    The University has been identified by the University Grants Commission as one of the University in the Country with 'Potential of Excellence'. It has 9 schools consisting of 27 centres of studies and 4 special centres.

    The strength of its teaching and non-teaching staff is 420 and 1297 respectively. 4890 students were on rolls.

    University of Delhi

    University of Delhi was established in February, 1922 as a unitary and residential university.  It has 14 faculties, 82 teaching departments and 78 college spread over national Capital Territory of Delhi.

    A new State University - Indraprashtha Vishwavidhlaya has come up in Delhi as an affiliating University.

    Jamia Millia Islamia

    Functioned as a Deemed University since 1962.  Acquired the status of a Central University in December 1988 by an Act of Parliament.  Imparts education from Nursery stage to Post-graduate and Doctorate levels.

    It has 29 Departments, excluding the various Centres of Studies and Research, grouped under 7 Faculties. Offering a total of 121 courses at the undergraduate and postgraduate levels, in addition to Ph.D Programmes.

    It has on its rolls a total of 14,000 students, including 97 foreign students from 38 countries.  

    The total strength of the teaching staff is 612 (including 120 for School Sector) and that of the non-teaching staff is 997. 

    Apart from providing training at Postgraduate level in Mass Communication, A.J. Kidwai Mass Communication Research Centre produces material on different educational aspects/subjets for the UGC's INSAT Programme.

    The new initiatives taken in the areas of academics include setting up of the various new Centres, including (i) Centre for Jawaharlal Nehru Studies, (ii) Centre for West Asian Studies, (iii) Centre for Dalit and Minorities Studies, (iv) Centre for Spanish and Latin American Studies and (v) Centre for Comparative Religion.