Info About Education in India


    Central Universities in India


    University of Hyderabad

    stablished in 1974 as one of the premier Central Universities which has been identified as a 'University with Potential for Excellence' by the University Grants Commission. 

    The University was established for post graduate teaching and research 22km from the city of Hyderabad on the Old Hyderabad - Bombay road.  It has a City Campus - The Golden Threshold- the residence of the late Smt. Sarojini Naidu The University has Eight Schools of Studies and a Centre for Distance Education offering post-graduate diploma in five disciplines.

    Visva Bharati

    An educational institution founded by late Gurudev Rabindranath Tagore in 1921 was declared in 1951, by an Act of Parliament, as an institution of national importance to provide for its functioning as a unitary, teaching and residential University. 

    Its jurisdiction is restricted to the area known as Santiniketan in the district Birbhum, West Bengal.  It imparts education from the Primary School level to Post-graduate and Doctorate levels.  

    It has twelve institutes - eight at Santiniketan, three at Sriniketan and one at Kolkata.. It has on its rolls a total of 6,227 students, including its Schools' strength.  The total strength of teaching and non-teaching staff is 550 and 1,400 respectively.   Admission is on the basis of merit adjudged through Admission Test.

    Palli Samgathana Vibhaga, originally established by Gurudev Tagore in Sriniketan in 1922 with the primary objective to bring about regeneration of village life through self-reliance in the village around Santiniketan.

    Sriniketan, is now one of the Institutes of the University with four Departments - Rural Extension Centre, Silpa Sadana (a pioneering institute in India in developing cottage and small scale industries), Department of Social Work and Palli Charcha Kendra (offering a Ph.D. programme and two PG level courses - in Anthropology and Rural Development - apart from conducting research on various aspects of the life of the rural people).

    North Eastern Hill University

    Established in 1973 at Shillong by an Act of Parliament with the object to disseminate and advance knowledge  by providing instructional and research facilities in various branches of learning and also to pay  special attention to the improvement of the social and economic conditions and welfare of the people of the hilly areas .

    The University has its jurisdiction over the State of Meghalaya and has a Campus at Tura.  The NEHU presently has 24 academic departments and four centers of studies under six schools.

    There are 58 under graduate colleges and 8 professional colleges affiliated to the University. The number of students studying for their Master's Degrees and research students working for their M.Phil and PhD degrees is close to 1700. The faculty strength of the University is over 300.

    The undergraduate colleges affiliated to the University enroll about 19,500 students For further details write e,mail to the Registrar. 

    Pondicherry University, Pondicherry

    Established by an Act of Parliament in 1985 as a teaching-cum-affiliating university with its jurisdiction over the Union Territories of Pondicherry and Andaman and Nicobar Islands. 

    It has 8 Schools, 24 Departments and 9 Centres, and it offers Certificate Course in one discipline, Post-graduate programme in 26 disciplines, M.Tech. in one discipline, M. Phil programme in 23 disciplines, Ph.D. programme in 26 disciplines and PG Diploma programme in 6 disciplines. 

    The University has 41 affiliated institutions of which 27 are located in Pondicherry, 5 in Karaikal, 2 in Mahe, 2 in Yanam and 5 in Andaman and Nicobar Islands.  Total students strength in these institutions is 21034. 

    Students enrolment in the University is 1538, out of which 312 students belong to SC/ST and women students are 536. 

    University has a faculty strength of 136 teachers and 523 non-teaching staff.  35 Research Scholars have registered for the Ph.D. programme. 68 sponsored Research Projects of topical relevance are in progress.